Kyoto, the Dodo, you are ruining my Mojo (#COP17)

I’ve been a little grumpy lately. Time to reflect on why.

I’ve just spent the last couple weeks away from my usual work engaging citizens and focusing on solutions to climate change… and immersed myself in the international climate talks at COP 17 in Durban, South Africa. Now, before I go on writing the rest of this blog, let me just get this out of my system:

AAhhhhhhhhhahsdfasldroe FUc#skldfuas SHi*sdytsdfh DAM sdfhnfe hasirhle A$$ hsodiflsdkhhgds !!!!

Somehow, that still doesn’t make me feel better. Well, perhaps I’ll try my usual shtick…

Okay, if you are a newbie to the climate file, here’s all you need to know:

I realize its not quite the same as spilled milk (Canada didn’t fail by accident), but we certainly need to move on from Kyoto. Even then, I do feel the need to mourn it.

You might be wondering why someone would pay me to pay attention to this nightmare of a situation. Quite simply, while national governments have proven their inability to put the human race ahead of national “interests”, regional governments and some businesses are making progress.

British Columbia is one of them. (If you want to know why, check out our Climate Action Plan, or look at your gasoline bill next time you fill up).

So, the Minister of Environment, the Honourable Terry Lake, decided that we should go and join peers like California and Quebec, and tell the world about the near heroic things BC is doing to fight climate change… with the hopes that others will gain the courage to do the same.

My role in this was to help prepare him: to arrange meetings with smart and influential people, write guidance for what he might say at speaking events, and to understand the general situation and advise on a potential strategic approach BC could take to support climate action around the globe. He arrives on Monday, and you can follow along with his travels on twitter: @TerryLakeMLA

However, for as much as I am proud to say BC really does have reasons to show off and claim “leadership” in the file… I AM TIRED.

I am tired of the politically muted urgency of this issue.

I am tired of the conflicting/competing approaches to making progress.

I am tired of people that claim they don’t believe it should matter to them.

I am tired of seeing the stress and worry of people who know better and really do care.

I am tired of being angry at the Canadian Federal Government, and more, the Canadian public, for not demanding more.

I am tired of trying to imagine how I can prepare my young son for a world I would not wish to an enemy.

Time for bed. Good night, Kyoto.

To a new world waiting,

HB

Leave a Reply

